

## VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYAPEETH SHAKTI UTTHAN AASHRAM LAKHISARA

CLASS-10<sup>TH</sup>

(BASED ON N C E R T PATTERN)

DATE:- 13.06.21. HISTORY

## NATIONALISM IN INDIA

- 1. Who was the writer of the book 'Hind Swaraj'?
- (a) Rabindranath Tagore
- (b) B.R. Ambedkar
- (c) Mahatma Gandhi
- (d) Jawahar Lai Nehru

Answer: c

- 2. Khilafat Committee was formed in 1919 in the city of
- (a) Bombay
- (b) Calcutta
- (c) Lucknow
- (d) Amritsar

Answer: a

- 3. The Non-cooperation Khilafat Movement began in
- (a) January 1921
- (b) February 1922
- (c) December 1929
- (d) April 1919

Answer: a

- 4. Which of the following was the reason for calling off the Non-cooperation Movement by Gandhiji?
- (a) Pressure from the British Government
- (b) Second Round Table Conference
- (c) Gandhiji's arrest
- (d) Chauri-Chaura incident

Answer: d

- 5. Baba Ramchandra, a sanyasi, was the leader of which of the following movements?
- (a) Khilafat Movement
- (b) Militant Guerrilla Movement of Andhra Pradesh
- (c) Peasants' Movement of Awadh
- (d) Plantation Workers' Movement in Assam

Answer: c

- 6. Who set up the 'Oudh Kisan Sabha'?
- (a) Alluri Sitaram Raju
- (b) Jawahar Lai Nehru and Baba Ramchandra
- (c) Jawaharlal Nehru and Shaukat Ali
- (d) Mahatma Gandhi

Answer: b

- 7. Under the presidency of Jawahahar Lai Nehru, the Lahore Congress Session of 1929 formalised the demand of
- (a) abolition of Salt Tax
- (b) 'Puma Swaraj' or complete independence
- (c) boycott of Simon Commission
- (d) separate electorate for the 'dalits'

Answer: b

- 8. The 'Simon Commission' was boycotted because
- (a) there was no British Member in the Commission.
- (b) it demanded separate electorates for Hindus and Muslims.
- (c) there was no Indian Member in the Commission.
- (d) it favoured the Muslims over the Hindus.

Answer: c

- 9. A form of demonstration used in the Non-cooperation Movement in which people block the entrance to a shop, factory or office is
- (a) Boycott
- (b) Begar
- (c) Picketing
- (d) Bandh

Answer: c

- 10. Who formed the 'Swaraj Party' within the Congress?
- (a) Jawahar Lai Nehru and Motilal Nehru
- (b) Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Mahatma Gandhi
- (c) Jawahar Lai Nehru and Subhas Chandra Bose
- (d) C.R. Das and Motilal Nehru

Answer: d

- 11. Who founded the 'Depressed Classes Association' in 1930?
- (a) Alluri Sitaram Raju
- (b) C.R. Das
- (c) M.R. Jayakar
- (d) Dr B.R. Ambedkar

Answer: d

- 12. Which party did not boycott the Council elections held in the year 1921?
- (a) Swaraj Party
- (b) Justice Party
- (c) Muslim League
- (d) Congress Party

Answer: b

- 13. What do you mean by the term 'Begar'l
- (a) An Act to prevent plantation workers to leave the tea gardens without permission.
- (b) The forced recruitment of soldiers in rural areas during World War I.
- (c) Labour that villagers were forced to contribute without any payment.
- (d) Refusal to deal and associate with people, or participate in activities as a form of protest.

Answer: c

- 14. Where did Mahatma Gandhi start his famous 'Salt March' on 12th March 1930?
- (a) Dandi
- (b) Chauri-Chaura
- (c) Sabarmati
- (d) Surat

Answer: c

- 15. Which industrialist attacked colonial control over Indian economy and supported the Civil Disobedience Movement?
- (a) Dinshaw Petit
- (b) Purshottamdas Thakurdas
- (c) Dwarkanath Tagore
- (d) Seth Hukumchand

Answer: b

- 16. Who visualised and depicted the image of 'Bharat Mata' through a painting?
- (a) Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay
- (b) Rabindranath Tagore
- (c) Natesa Sastri
- (d) Abanindranath Tagore

Answer: d

- 17. Which of the following was Mahatma Gandhi's novel method of fighting against the British?
- (a) He used violent method of stone pelting.
- (b) He used arson to bum down government offices.
- (c) He fought with the principle of 'an eye for i an eye'.
- (d) He practised open defiance of law, ; peaceful demonstration, satyagraha and non-violence.

Answer: d

- 18. What does satyagraha mean? Choose one from j the following options.
- (a) 'Satyagraha' means use of physical force to inflict pain while fighting.
- (b) 'Satyagraha' does not inflict pain, it is a : non-violent method of fighting against oppression.
- (c) 'Satyagraha' means passive resistance and is a weapon of the weak.
- (d) 'Satyagraha' was a racist method of mass agitation.

Answer: b

- 19. What was the purpose of imposing the j Rowlatt Act?
- (a) The Rowlatt Act forbade the Indians to: qualify for administrative services.
- (b) The Rowlatt Act had denied Indians the right to political participation.
- (c) The Rowlatt Act imposed additional taxes on Indians who were already groaning under the burden of taxes.

(d) The Rowlatt Act authorised the government to imprison any person i without trial and conviction in a court of j law

Answer: d

- 20. Where did the brutal 'Jallianwala Massacre' j take place?
- (a) Amritsar
- (b) Meerut
- (c) Lahore
- (d) Lucknow

Answer: a

- 21. Why did General Dyer order to open fire on a i peaceful demonstration at Jallianwala Bagh? Choose from the given options.
- (a) He wanted to show his power.
- (b) Firing was ordered because it was an unruly crowd.
- (c) Because his object, as he declared later, was to 'produce a moral effect' to create fear in the minds of 'satyagrahis'.
- (d) He ordered to fire because he noticed a j sudden unrest in the crowd.

Answer: c

MR ANANT KUMAR